Claiming the Unseen

Claiming the Unseen

“Now faith is the being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

Believing in the unseen is not an easy task for us humans. In fact, God designed us with the gift of physical sight so that we can assess our surroundings and respond to external stimuli.  

Let’s take a look at the following scenario below:

While enjoying a brisk morning walk through a local park, imagine that you begin to notice something large and colorful slithering along the pathway ahead of you. This immediately registers in your brain as something dangerous, causing your pupils to dilate in order to see the object more clearly.

Like a dam with broken gates, your adrenal glands begin the “fight or flight” response by pushing out epinephrine. Your heart rate is high, and blood is quickly pooling into your muscles as you prepare to dash away from that vicious reptile as fast as you can.

This example showcases how we, as humans, are created to make decisions based on what we can physically see.

Now, how about when God speaks, but there’s no tangible evidence to support what He’s clearly telling you?

Nothing to stimulate your physical receptors – you can’t see, touch, smell, or taste what He is instructing you to do or promising will come your way.

Like a spouse. Or a job. Maybe a ministerial calling. Perhaps even physical healing in your own body. Or an unborn child.

How then are we to respond when God is clearly speaking, but we are NOT clearly seeing?

Trust in Him. And wait for Him to move.

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14

We have to stop looking for the supernatural with the natural.

We can’t expect to immediately see what God is spiritually speaking. I personally find this very challenging – to not only believe (and hope) in what God is telling me is true, but also to wait in patience for His perfect timing to arrive.

And this is where I am today. I’m waiting for several promises to be delivered. Perhaps you are as well.

“I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word, I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen wait for morning, more than watchmen wait for morning.” Psalm 130:5-6

“For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.”Romans 1:17

“So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.” Romans 10:17

This is faith, beloved. It’s clinging to what we hope for and expectantly waiting for that which remains unseen.

What I find most profound about this entire experience is that it actually has NOTHING to do with what I’m waiting for. It is actually about how I am seeing God in the process.

“Am I really perceiving Him as a good God who is truly for my good?”

“Am I truly believing that He is actually in control and doesn’t need my personal contributions (to speed up the process)?”

“Do I truly trust that He will take care of me and not make a mess out of my life?”

These are real questions that many of us have. And these are the ones that carry weight in God’s heart.

He wants us to know Him as He truly is. For many of us as His children, this will include walking into unfamiliar territory in order to grow in full dependence on Him with our lives.

“And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek Him. ” Hebrews 11:6

May you be encouraged and challenged (just as I am) by the following Scripture provided by the Lord to me this morning:

“My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, put your hope in the Lord both now and forevermore.” Psalm 131

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Claiming the Unseen

  1. Desiray says:

    The reason it is not easy for us is because we don’t believe anything until we actually see it…This is why we struggle with the principle in Hebrews 11:1..but when we put our trust in God we don’t have to worry about seeing in order to believe

  2. Hey Desiray! Thanks so much for reading and providing your feedback! Yes, it’s an interesting (and adventurous) process to really believe in what we cannot (yet) see. And trusting that God is truly good so we can trust Him in all things is an integral part of this faith journey. :) Have a beautiful week! Thank you again!

  3. katrina kiselinchev says:

    Love Love Love this.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

