Daily Archives: January 23, 2013

Dry Docking: A Place of Rest

DryDock

Dry Docking.

This bores me greatly.

I’d rather face the roar of crashing waves while the wind forcefully blows on my face. I am sailing and most importantly I am moving…ahead.

This is the excitement and adventure of making progress. Getting things done. And that’s how I like it.

But, any experienced seaman knows there’s a time to dry dock the ship. Just as our experienced Creator knows there’s a time to dry dock our hearts.

This, my friends, is known as a season of rest. 

It’s awkward and uncomfortable. My heart is completely exposed as I’m stilled before the Lord.

And while I rest,  I begin to grow.

The term ‘dry docking’ is the process in which a large dock is emptied of water, and then used for building or repairing a ship below its water line.

As this occurs the hull of the ship is completely exposed.

Much like resting in the Lord exposes the areas in our own hearts that need supernatural repair.

Resting isn’t a lackadaisical stroll, it actually takes effort.

It demands courage, strength, and a load of faith.

  • The courage to omit the opinions and criticisms of others. Even those derived from within my own self.
  • The strength to face each day with the fact that He is in control of my life and I can trust His voice.
  • And the faith to believe in what He is telling me to do despite all the strings pulling me in several different directions.

These are the scriptures the Lord shared with me this morning as He spoke about rest.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

We know this passage captures the heart of God as Moses prepared the hearts of both Joshua (his successor) and the Israelites to enter into the promised land.

I personally wouldn’t have chosen this verse in a response to rest. But, He is all knowing and incredibly wise. So, I sat and listened as the Holy Spirit began to speak:

“When the Lord calls you into a time of rest, it serves as preparation for what’s coming up next.”

If the Lord is speaking to us about rest, we must rest, beloved. Because the road ahead will require us to give all we have, we may miss out on some amazing opportunities if we are not rested in advance.

May we heed to the words of Jesus in Mark 6:31 when He spoke: “come with Me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

Dry docking: A place of growth and refinement through rest.

 

Photo provided by: Keith Becker

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,
