Daily Archives: January 9, 2013

The Train I Should've Caught

 

Image

 

The famous American author and abolitionist Henry David Thoreau once stated “Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.”

Regrets.

We’ve all had them at some point or another. Webster defines regret as “to mourn the loss or death of someone or something; the expression of sorrow”.

And most often it’s in the form of a missed opportunity. An opportunity to have loved someone, to have pursued a dream, to say “goodbye”, to forgive a hurt, to laugh with a friend, or to build something great.

It was a train that we should have caught. But we missed it.

I don’t want to have regrets. And looking back at my life, I don’t ever want to mutter the words “it might have been.”

What about you?

It brings me comfort to know King David must have been feeling the same way. Psalm 90:12 states: “So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.

It’s interesting the Lord makes this connection between numbering our days and obtaining a heart of wisdom. Why would He do this? I believe the Father wants us to grasp just how limited our time is here. With this understanding, we can purposefully live out our lives to the absolute fullest. And in so doing, we avoid the regrets.

We become intentional.

We no longer say “it can wait till tomorrow”. We do it today.

We seek His face TODAY.

We love that family member TODAY

We romance our spouse TODAY.

We forgive that hurtful offense TODAY.

We make that phone call TODAY.

We begin paying off that debt TODAY.

We start writing that book TODAY. 

We plan that trip TODAY.

How many days do you have remaining?

I did the calculations. And if I make it to be eighty years old, I’ll have 18,430 days.

18,430 days remaining to make an impact.

What things are you postponing for the future? I’d encourage you, my friends, to number your days and gain a heart of wisdom, so you may live a life rich in purpose.

Don’t look back at the train you should have caught. The one you missed.

Instead, look forward to the one you can still catch today.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19 NIV

 

 

 

 

 


Tagged , , ,
