Daily Archives: January 8, 2013

Failure Makes Me Smile

There’s no pretending here. We all know it. Failure sucks. It grips us from within, jerks our pride around, and fills us with a grim disappointment that we couldn’t measure up to the task.

Or so we think….

Failure can make me stand.. still. It paralyzes me to the core. Afraid of what others may think or say, I permit myself to deny the reality that I need to keep moving. Instead, I find myself distracted with meaningless tasks, hoping to fill that place of “much needed productivity while quietly hoping for success.” Why do we do this?

Why is failure so darn intimidating?

And what is this disillusionment I’ve somehow bought into along the way? That success is a goal reached without one flicker of failure. Who even came up with this idea? And how many unrealized dreams have been locked deep within the hearts of people due to the fear to failure? No risks taken. No decisions made.

With hot tea in one hand, my Bible in another, and a mind full of questions, the Holy Spirit began speaking His infallible truth while granting me a winsome comfort to my soul. This is what He shared.

Failure is a gift. It’s a tool of encouragement and refinement. And most importantly, it draws us closer to the Father.

Now, that sounds like something I’d like in my life. How about you?

The Word says in 2 Corinthians 12:9- “And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.” (NASB)

Interesting. Check out what He is saying here.

It’s the grace of Jesus (a bountiful, free gift that’s always available) that is sufficient (what is necessary or desirable) for us (you and me). Sounds pretty good. Jesus is basically saying He’s got us covered.

But, why? Why is He telling us this?

Because His power (the ability to exert effort, strength, qualification) is perfected (fully accomplished, completion without any lack) in weakness (powerlessness, inabilities).  Let that soak in. Weakness is good.

Why? Because it draws us closer to our Lord. And because His strength is perfected in our inabilities, we are given a priceless opportunity, to partner with the Almighty King in producing a masterpiece of life. With Him, we’ll always produce excellence. No doubt about it.  

Lastly, Paul (the writer of this God-inspired scripture reference) states that he is most glad (delighted, pleased, cheerful) to boast (brag, magnify, flaunt) about his weaknesses, so that Christ can powerfully dwell in Him.

When’s the last time you approached someone to brag on all the shortfalls you possess in your life? Oh, and doing so with a great big smile on your face? I would feel pretty safe to say, not many of us.

Delight my friends, in your shortcomings.  Welcome Jesus into these areas that are lacking, so you may be strengthened by His power through His grace. Dependency in Him will always yield success.

Failure is a gift.

And failure makes me smile. 🙂

Tagged , ,
